Quilted Blue Chanel Handbag Cake

A friend asked me if I could make a cake for his wife’s birthday.  He wanted ‘something special’, said she likes handbags and her favourite colour is blue, then left it up to me.

Actual Chanel bagMooching on t’internet I became inspired by this Chanel Handbag, and having looked at a few ‘How To’ articles, decided to give it a go.  This is what I made…

Cake Chanel bagI am still so proud of it!  My friend’s wife was thrilled with it, and he told me that their daughter spent ages examining it very, very closely before announcing, “I don’t think you can eat it Mummy.  I think it’s real!”  When they did eat it, they loved it 🙂

Made to the same dimensions as the actual bag, this cake was a five layer Madeira cake, filled with strawberry jam and strawberry buttercream, covered with fondant.  The chain and linked ‘C’ emblem were made using gumpaste.

The very best part…making this cake was a doddle!  The quilting worked out well and easily, the chain behaved itself, nothing tried to fall over or dry out…quite remarkable.  I actually think it might have been a fluke and am a bit worried about being asked to do another one like this in case I can’t recreate it 😉

This cake was pure pleasure to do and boosted my confidence right back up.  It was also the cake that generated sufficient interest for me to start contemplating the idea of doing this baking and decorating malarkey for money, rather than just for my own jollies.

x

One thought on “Quilted Blue Chanel Handbag Cake

Leave a Reply

