Hat Box Cake

The last cake of 2103 was for a friend whose birthday falls just after Christmas.  I was given free rein on the design and took the opportunity to try working with edible printed sugar sheets.

Black & White Hat Box Cake with Roses & PearlsThe cake was a four tier vanilla Madeira cake, layered with strawberry jam and vanilla buttercream.  The entire thing was covered with white fondant then cut panels of pre-printed edible sugar sheets applied.  I really liked the effect, and how easy they were to work with.  It would have looked even better if I’d done a more proficient job of levelling the top of the cake.

Hat Box Cake Lid & BowLustred fondant pearls and Belgian chocolate roses.  Don’t be too impressed by the roses – they’re bought white chocolate ones – all I did was tint and lustre them!

Ribbon & Gift TagStrawberry flavoured modelling chocolate was used for the bow, ribbon and tag.  This time I worked out that the modelling chocolate could be worked a lot thinner that I’d previously realised.

IMG_5802

I thought the Champagne bottle shaped candles added a lovely finishing touch to this cake.

The femininity and elegance of it made me want to wear a pretty hat and a floaty dress…I enjoyed doing it so much…it really was a pleasure.

You can see how my technique had improved too…the sides of the cake were much straighter and neater than the ones from earlier in the year.  A lot of improvement still to make though.

x

Leave a Reply

