Steampunk Meets Burlesque Top Hat Cake

I was asked to create a cake for my friend LL’s partner and the commission came in my favourite form – vague and mostly up to me.  To be precise, the spec was: “A hat, involving purple, with some kind of burlesque-ish touch.”

I know a little about the lady in question and her tastes, so this is what I came up with:

Steampunk meets Burlesque

I have to be honest with you…I’m incredibly proud of how it turned out 🙂  I’m also really pleased to know that LL was over the moon and her lady absolutely loved it.

Chequerboard design inside the hat cake

This four layer cake is a heavenly combination of purple velvet cake and caramel sponge cake, baked to form a chequerboard pattern when cut.

Filled with whipped white chocolate ganache, frosted with dark chocolate ganache, covered with caramel flavoured fondant, finished with hand crafted chocolate buttons, gumpaste flowers, fondant detailing and non-edible feathers.

Label in the hatband

A fondant label tucked into the fondant ‘leather’ hat band, with hand crafted, edible ‘antique’ chocolate buttons.

Buttons & Flowers detail

Hand crafted chocolate buttons and gumpaste flower detail.

Purple hat cake with button, flower and feather trim

I think this might be my favourite cake to date, hope you like it too 🙂

x

One thought on “Steampunk Meets Burlesque Top Hat Cake

Leave a Reply

